Esthetics Licensing in Arkansas
Education Requirements for Becoming an Esthetician in Arkansas
Have you ever noticed how someone with great skin can look years or even decades younger than they really are? No wonder esthetics is one of the fastest growing specialties in cosmetology! Lots of people are willing to spend money on skin care if they know that the results will make them look younger, healthier, and happier.
If you are looking for the right beauty career for you, esthetics is a great option to consider. Not only is the demand for estheticians growing quickly, this specialty gives you the chance to work with many types of technology and beauty products.
In Arkansas, the field of skin care is regulated by the Cosmetology Section of the Arkansas Department of Health. They have strict educational guidelines for those who want to earn an Arkansas esthetician license.
All approved skin care schools in Arkansas must meet the following curricular guidelines:
• Chemistry (40 hours)
• Physiology (35 hours)
• Bacteriology and sanitation (35 hours)
• Introductory skin care (45 hours)
• Skin care (150 hours)
• Makeup/corrective makeup (50 hours)
• Eyebrow and lashes (40 hours)
• Hair removal (40 hours)
• Safety precautions (20 hours)
• Professional development (20 hours)
• Management (20 hours)
• Salesmanship (15 hours)
• State laws and statutes (10 hours)
• Testing evaluation (15 hours)
When you account for these hours, you find that each program has 65 hours that can be used as your instructor sees fit. Your instructor may decide to have you do more skin care procedures, get additional practice in areas where you need improvement, or learn new and popular techniques.
Your curriculum may include additional aesthetics courses like:
• Business practices
• Job search skills
• Corrections and contouring
Getting your education from an Arkansas esthetics program can help you start an exciting and rewarding career. Learn how to get an esthetics license in Arkansas by contacting esthetics programs near you.
Arkansas Esthetician License Requirements
AR esthetician license requirements are fairly strict, so your education is just the first part of getting a skin care license. Once you complete your training, you may submit your licensure application, register for your written exam, and register for your practical exam. Earning a passing score on these exams allows you to get your license and begin working.
Throughout the licensure process, be prepared to meet these qualifications and expectations:
• $60 written testing fee and $65 practical testing fee: Arkansas Department of Health
• Fees paid by personal or business check
• 600 hours of training required
• Tests may be taken in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, or Korean
Licensing is one of the cornerstones of the beauty industry. By requiring all estheticians to be licensed, lawmakers make it easy for customers to only choose licensed and trained beauty specialists. This improves the customer experience and strengthens the industry.
How to Get Your Arkansas Esthetician’s License Renewed
Not only do esthetician license requirements in AR cover your initial license, they also cover the renewal process. Renewing your license shows that you are still active in the industry and keeping your skills up-to-date. Currently, the state of Arkansas requires you to renew your license every two years by your birthday. No continuing education units are required. You must pay a renewal fee of $50.
If you can’t wait to start your new career as an esthetician, this is the perfect time to get started. Make your move now by contacting esthetics schools in Arkansas for more information.
Find Esthetics / Skin Care Programs in Arkansas
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.