Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Virginia
It takes a special type of person to work as a cosmetologist. You have to love working with people, know how to communicate clearly and efficiently, and be able to put people at ease. If you can bring these traits to the table, then you can likely learn everything else you need to know to get a Virginia cosmetology license.
The Virginia Board for Barbers & Cosmetology is very clear about what it takes to become a cosmetologist. That is why they decide which schools are approved and what approved schools must teach. If you have the right passion and personality for beauty, you can develop your knowledge and skills in a beauty program.
Topics and skills that must be addressed in a cosmetology program include:
• Orientation covering state law, personal hygiene, and sanitation • Manicuring and pedicuring • Shampooing and rinsing • Scalp treatments • Hair styling • Haircutting • Permanent waving and chemical relaxing • Hair coloring and relaxing • Skin care and makeup • Wigs and hair pieces • Salon management
Hair is the main topic covered in a cosmetology program, but you should also be completely comfortable working with skin and hair by the time you graduate. You never know what each workday will bring, but this curriculum allows you to be ready for anything. Beauty schools often have program start dates throughout the year.
The skills you master on your way to a VA cosmetology license are required for your career, but they are also a huge part of the examination process. Once you have met the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology license requirements regarding training, you must go on to take your exams and meet the passing score requirements. The written test covers theory, terminology, and Virginia cosmetology laws. The skills test verifies that you have the right skills and procedural knowledge to safely provide services to customers.
The following fees and standards are part of earning a Virginia state cosmetology license:
• $90 for each exam (written and practical) • Fees must be paid by money order or cashier’s check • 1500 school hours or 3000 apprenticeship hours required • National Testing Network offers testing in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Korean
Statewide beauty licensing requirements help you make a name for yourself in the early days of your career. In non-licensed fields, professionals have to prove their abilities with experience, internships, and a bit of luck. With a license, any Virginia salon employer can look up your license number and know that you meet the state Board of Cosmetology licensing requirements.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Virginia
You’ve made it through the licensure process and you’re ready to get behind the salon chair and start working with clients! Now you just need to make sure you keep your license valid throughout your career. Every two years, you submit a renewal application and pay a fee of $105. Your application is due by the end of the month in which you got your initial license. No continuing education hours are required in Virginia.
Become a cosmetologist and become part of one of the fastest changing industries in the country.
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.