Find Programs Near You
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Texas
You know that you feel better when you look your best, and you’ve decided that you want to spend your career helping others feel that way about themselves. You’re in the right place—Texas has a huge beauty community and lots of fun opportunities for cosmetologists. Texas is home to quite a few beauty shows and trade events, beauty pageants, and nationally known salons. Getting your education in Texas can give you access to opportunities that people in other states might never get.
Before you can jump behind the salon chair, however, you must learn how to get a cosmetology license in Texas. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation licenses all beauty professions in Texas, so you have to meet their training requirements.
To qualify for a license, your training program must meet the following standards:
• Haircutting, styling, and related theory (500 hours)
• Hair coloring and theory (200 hours)
• Cold waving and theory (200 hours)
• Orientation, laws, and statutes (100 hours)
• Manicuring and pedicuring (100 hours)
• Shampooing (100 hours)
• Chemistry (75 hours)
• Salon management (75 hours)
• Hair and scalp treatment (50 hours)
• Chemical hair relaxing (50 hours)
• Facials (50 hours)
When you look at that list, it may seem like a lot to learn. But by the time you finish your 9+ months in training, these procedures should be second nature to you.
Texas Cosmetology License Requirements
After you finish your training at a Board-approved school, you just have to go through a few more steps to get your Texas cosmetology license. Getting passing scores on your practical and written exams is a big part of this process.
To make sure that you are ready for your cosmetology exams, learn more about the fees and training requirements of a TX cosmetology license:
• $52 fee for the written exam and $74 fee for the practical exam
• Can pay fees by credit card, cashier’s check, company check, or money order
• Must have 1500 hours of beauty school training or 1000 hours of beauty school training and 500 hours of high school instruction
• Tests administered by PSI; available in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese
Without meeting the state of Texas cosmetology license requirements, you cannot work on clients independently. Keep in mind that you may get hired before you get your license, but you cannot work until you are a licensed cosmetologist. This is the best reason to work hard and get through the application process. However, having your license also makes it easier to get insurance, prove your training to customers, and enjoy professional training options.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Texas
Make a note of when you get your Texas state cosmetology license. You must renew your license every two years by your original licensure date. Currently, you have to pay a fee of $50 at the end of each renewal cycle. Renewing your license late may require you to pay additional fees; in addition, it may cause your license to lapse.
Texas does have continuing education requirements. During each renewal period, you must go through four hours of approved continuing education. Your training must include one hour of sanitation and three hours of cosmetology methods.
Texas cosmetology schools are dedicated to your success and to giving you the skills you need to make clients happy.