South Dakota Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in South Dakota
The beauty industry is one that is constantly changing in response to new trends, new techniques, and new products. If you love to change up your look and you want a career that is never the same two days in a row, then the cosmetology industry could really use your passion. As a South Dakota cosmetologist, you can work in one of the chain or standalone salons located throughout the state, or you can become self-employed and consider opening your own salon.
For the entire time that you are a beauty student or beauty professional, you have to follow the rules created by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. This group creates the licensing standards, training requirements, and renewal process for all cosmetology careers.
When you select a beauty program, you must choose one that fits the following training expectations:
• Infection control and safety (120 hours)
• Scientific concepts, including chemistry and bacteriology (210 hours)
• Hair coloring (240 hours)
• Chemical hair relaxing (60 hours)
• Haircutting (240 hours)
• Hairstyling (330 hours)
• Permanent waving (150 hours)
• Nail technology
• Massage (30 hours)
• Esthetics (330 hours)
• Business practices (150 hours)
This leaves 60 unassigned hours at the end of any cosmetology program. Your instructors are responsible for deciding how those hours will be used. Some schools go on field trips to beauty expos or beauty shows, while others set up extra client work or help students one-on-one. Throughout your entire curriculum, you must complete at least 250 hours of theory to qualify for a South Dakota cosmetology license.
Learn more about accredited beauty schools near you with our list of cosmetology programs below.
South Dakota Cosmetology License Requirements
Beauty license requirements in South Dakota include examination. Only by passing a skills exam and a written exam can you get your cosmetology license. When you sign up to take your exams, you must also pay a variety of fees. If you want a temporary license that lasts until you receive your permanent license in the mail, you must also pay for a temporary license.
Fees and other testing information can be found below:
• $80 examination and initial licensing fee
• Temporary license fee of $6
• 2100 hours of training required
• Tests can be taken in English or Vietnamese
The steps involved in earning an SD cosmetology license ensure that you are fully trained and ready to work independently by the time you step into a salon as a cosmetologist. In addition, these licensing statutes protect clients from damage caused by undertrained or unlicensed cosmetology professionals.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in South Dakota
After learning how to get a beauty license in South Dakota, make sure you know how to keep your license valid. Failing to renew your license on time may cause your license to lapse, preventing you from working independently and causing you extra money in fees. Your South Dakota cosmetology license must be renewed every year by your birthday.
The fee is currently $20. Although the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission doesn’t require any continuing education for renewal, your place of employment may expect you to keep up on trends by attending training events.
Are you ready to jump right into a new career? Make your move now by requesting information from South Dakota cosmetology schools.
Find Cosmetology Programs in South Dakota
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.