Rhode Island Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Rhode Island
Wouldn’t it be great to get paid for something you love to do? If you love playing with your hair, trying out any beauty product you can get your hands on, and trying new nail art styles, you could get paid for your skills! Rhode Island has a huge variety of salons and spas that serve residents and New England travelers. By earning an RI cosmetology license, you can carry out a variety of beauty procedures and techniques.
Licensing requirements tend to be somewhat similar across different states, but specific statutes and rules are created by each state. Because of this, your career in cosmetology is regulated by the State of Rhode Island Department of Health. This department oversees every single step of the licensure process, from your beauty education to your license renewal.
To qualify for a Rhode Island cosmetology license, you must attend an approved school and study the following topics:
• Theory, including Rhode Island laws and statutes
• Hair cutting
• Hair coloring
• Chemical texturing
• Chemical processes
• Permanent waving
• Manicuring and pedicuring
• Artificial nails
• Facials and skin care
• Temporary hair removal
If looking at that list fills you with excitement over everything you can learn in a beauty career, you could fit right in at a local beauty school.
Contact Rhode Island cosmetology programs to find out how you can begin your training.
Rhode Island Cosmetology License Requirements
Once you have mastered the topics listed above and you have successfully graduated from beauty school, you can get right into the rest of the Rhode Island licensing process. To prove that you are ready to work independently, you must pass a written exam and a skills exam.
Keep reading to learn about the fees you must pay and other things to remember:
• $75 exam fee
• Credit card used to pay fees online
• 1500 hours of education required
• Tests may be taken in English, Spanish, Korean, and Vietnamese through PSI
The requirements for a cosmetology license in Rhode Island are important both to Rhode Island as a state and to the cosmetology industry in general. When every single state has high licensing standards, the reputation of the cosmetology industry stays strong, making it easier for cosmetologists all over the United States to succeed. In addition, many beauty shows, salon supply stores, and other venues are only open to licensed cosmetology professionals.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Rhode Island
Renewal is a major part of working in any licensed career. You should receive a license renewal reminder in the mail when the time comes, but you should still stay on top of renewal time. Missing the mailing is not considered a valid excuse, and you’ll still have to pay a late fee if your application is received after the due date.
Renew your license by October 30 every two years to keep it up-to-date. The current renewal fee is $25. There are no continuing education hours required in Rhode Island, but it is still recommended that you take advantage of ongoing training opportunities. Constantly building your skill base can help you attract new clients, stay on top of industry trends, and brush up on skills that you don’t often use.
Once you know how to get a beauty license in Rhode Island, all you have to do is begin.
Check out Rhode Island beauty schools below to find programs that interest you.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Rhode Island
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.