Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Pennsylvania
Finding the perfect career for your interests and skills is a significant part of being happy in life, so why wouldn’t you want to train in a career field that you are passionate about? If your YouTube history is full of makeup and hair tutorials, you have more shades of red lipstick than a pageant mom, and people in your circle go to you for beauty advice, your calling may be in the field of cosmetology.
The field of cosmetology is very tightly regulated, but it is done on a state-by-state basis. That means that you can earn your PA cosmetology license through the Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology. Before you can submit your license application and sit for the board exams, you must provide proof that you have fulfilled their training requirements.
The topics and hour requirements are listed below:
• Professional practices: bacteriology, sanitation, professional attitude, and Pennsylvania cosmetology law (50 hours) • Related sciences: histology, trichology, chemistry, physiology, dermatology, and electricity (200 hours) • Cosmetology skills: shampooing, hair shaping, hairstyling, chemical texturizing, permanent waving, hair coloring, hair straightening, skin care, nail technology, temporary hair removal, scalp treatments, hair textures, and makeup (1000 hours)
Cosmetology skills make up the biggest part of your training, so you should get ready to spend most of your training hours working with your hands, getting feedback, and perfecting different beauty procedures.
You may want to learn about how to get a cosmetology license in PA even before you start your education. Knowing exactly what the licensing process includes can help you plan and learn everything you need to know during your training.
These are the Pennsylvania cosmetology license requirements:
• Fees to be paid by credit card, check, money order, or business check • $10 licensing fee and $70 apprentice fee • 1250 school hours or 2000 apprenticeship hours required for testing • Tests available only in English
With your license in hand, you can begin working at spas and salons all over Pennsylvania. You may be hired on at a salon before you have your license, but you cannot legally begin working with customers until you have a valid license. Having a valid license proves to the beauty community, employers, and customers that you have successfully mastered specific skills and reached certain standards in your training.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Pennsylvania
A PA state cosmetology license allows you to work as a cosmetologist for up to two years. Once your initial licensing period is over, you have to renew your license to continue working. License renewal occurs every two years in Pennsylvania and you should receive a renewal notification from the Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology.
The renewal fee is $67, but you may be expected to pay a late fee if your application is not postmarked by the due date. You do not have to complete any continuing education hours to renew your license.
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.