Would you like to dedicate your career to beauty, using the hottest products in cosmetology, and learning the techniques that your customers want? A cosmetology license in Ohio gives you the freedom to work in any beauty establishment in the state, including well-known salons like Tease Salon, Bixels Salon, and Flawless Beauty Salon.
Through the Ohio State Board of Cosmetology, you can learn about all of the requirements to get a beauty license in Ohio. Although there are many requirements to meet, they are all very straightforward. In addition, accredited beauty schools in Ohio are very familiar with this process and can help you navigate it.
The first step in getting an Ohio cosmetology license is completing your education. The Ohio State Board of Cosmetology requires you to meet the following training requirements:
• Infection control (60 hours) • Properties of hair and scalp (120 hours) • Hair procedures and practices, including styling and finishing, thermal styling, formal styling, and haircutting (460 hours) • Chemical procedures and practices (480 hours) • Manicure and pedicure procedures (120 hours) • Skin care procedures and practices (120 hours) • Salon operation and communication (120 hours) • Cosmetology laws and rules (20 hours)
These training standards meet two goals. First, they help you develop the knowledge and hands-on skills you need to work independently in a salon. Second, they cover everything you need to know to pass your cosmetology licensing exams.
Obviously, your exams are going to be an important part of your new career. To legally work as a cosmetologist in Ohio, you must earn passing scores on a written test and a skills test. Once the Board of Cosmetology receives proof of your passing scores, they can administer your license.
You’ll need to meet the following training standards and pay these fees to get your license:
• $21 examination fee • May pay fees by check or money order • $30 license application fee • 1500 hours of approved training required
Cosmetology is a creative field, but it is very important to have uniformity in training and testing. Holding all cosmetologists to the same standards prevents under-qualified cosmetologists from weakening the industry or damaging its reputation. This makes the industry better for customers and it makes the industry a better place for you to work.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Ohio
Your first Ohio state cosmetology license will be good for less than two years. The renewal cycle in Ohio is two years, and since no license can be valid for longer than two years, yours will be a valid for a shorter time frame. You must renew by January 31 of every odd-numbered year.
The current renewal fee is $30. During each two-year cycle, you must complete eight hours of approved continuing education. Continuing education may be completed at seminars, beauty expos, trade shows, training courses, and other approved events. Through continuing education, you can keep your skills up-to-date and stay on top of changes in the industry.
Jumping into the beauty community of Ohio may help you find the career that is perfect for your skills and passions.
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.