New Hampshire Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in New Hampshire
Bangs or no bangs? Layering or blunt ends? Natural makeup or a smoky eye? French manicure or intricate nail art? When you decide to work in the beauty industry of New Hampshire, you get to work with clients every day to make these decisions and transform people’s lives.
In New Hampshire, your cosmetology career is overseen by the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics.You should have contact with this agency throughout your training and career, since you have to submit paperwork and register as a student once you’ve been accepted to a New Hampshire beauty school. By the time you graduate, you should be 100% ready to tackle any task that falls within your scope of practice as a cosmetologist.
To help you reach this goal, the NH State Board of Cosmetology requires schools to cover the following topics:
• Shampooing and conditioning
• Hair styling and shaping
• Chemical hair processes
• Hair theory
• Nail care and procedures
• Skin care and procedures, including facials
• New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics laws and statutes
Some subjects are taught entirely in the classroom, particularly laws and statutes that relate to the cosmetology industry. However, you can’t really learn how to work with hair, skin, or nails by sitting at a desk. That’s why most of your training should be spent working with cosmetology tools and chemicals to master different procedures. Your experience should include mannequin heads and human customers.
New Hampshire Cosmetology License Requirements
Not only does your education give you the skills and knowledge you need to work in a salon, it should adequately prepare you for the testing process in New Hampshire. To get your NH cosmetology license, you must pass a written exam and a skills exam.
Keep the following timeline and fees in mind as you learn how to get a cosmetology license in NH:
• Immediately receive a temporary working permit once the NH Board of Cosmetology receives word of your passing scores
• Tests administered by NIC
• Fees to be paid by credit card or money order
• $104 practical exam fee and $88 written exam fee
• Letter verifying school hours required
• 1500 hours or 3000 apprenticeship hours
• Testing available only in English
Working with a customer’s appearance is a big responsibility, particularly when you think about all of the different tools and chemicals you use as a cosmetologist. The licensure process in New Hampshire is meant to build and test your skills, giving you confidence that you are ready to work independently in any beauty setting.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in New Hampshire
The license renewal process in New Hampshire is very straightforward. You must renew your cosmetology license by the last day of your birth month in every even-numbered year. New Hampshire does not require any continuing education hours, but it is still highly recommended that you complete continuing education courses to stay up-to-date on the industry. A $40 license renewal fee must be paid with your application.