Nevada Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Nevada
When you love beauty, working in the cosmetology industry anywhere can be fun. But if you live in Nevada, you may have even more opportunities to create a great cosmetology career! Nevada has a ton of spas and salons that cater to tourists and stylish residents, so you could face new and exciting challenges every day.
To become a cosmetologist in Nevada, you’ll need to follow the licensure steps laid out by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology. The Nevada Board of Cosmetology is made up of professional cosmetologists, instructors, and business owners. They decide what you need to know and what qualifications you need to have to work in Nevada’s beauty industry.
By law, all approved beauty schools in Nevada must cover the following topics:
• Nail wrapping
• Facials and makeup
• Finger waving
• Hair coloring
• Field trips and miscellaneous practical instruction
• Laws and statutes
• Permanent waving and chemical straightening
• Reception desk training
• Salon management
• Scalp care
• Shampooing and rinsing
• Thermal straightening and curling
• Wet hair dressing
• Wigs and hairpieces
Clearly, you have a lot to learn if you want to become a cosmetologist! In the entire duration of your training, you must complete at least 250 hours of cosmetology theory. The rest of your education may be dedicated to hands-on practical experience, including work with mannequin heads, mannequin hands, and real clients.
On your way to earning a Nevada cosmetology license, you can develop all sorts of important skills and knowledge.
Nevada Cosmetology License Requirements
In some fields, you can begin working as soon as you have your degree in your hand. However, the cosmetology industry requires you to go through several important licensing steps before you can work independently. This doesn’t mean that you can’t apply for jobs before graduation. In fact, some students accept job offers before they have completed their training.
As you take your cosmetology examinations and go through all of your cosmetology paperwork, keep the following rules in mind:
• $110 testing fee
• Fees may be paid by money order, cashier’s check, or credit cards
• Initial licensing fee ranges from $35 to $102.08 depending on your date of birth
• 1600 hours; apprenticeship available only in special cases
• NIC administers tests in English and Spanish
Licensing might seem like a bunch of extra hoops to jump through, but it serves an important purpose in the cosmetology industry. With these extensive requirements, the state of Nevada gives consumers confidence in beauty professionals by ensuring that anyone who calls himself or herself a cosmetologist has met their minimum standards.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Nevada
With your NV cosmetology license, you are ready to begin working and building a base of loyal clients. If you want to keep working in this industry after two years, you’ll need to renew your license. Licenses expire every two years on your birthday. Nevada currently charges a renewal fee of $70. If you renew late, you must add $20 for each month that you are late. During each two-year period, you are required to earn four continuing education units in infection control and safety.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Nevada
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.