Nebraska Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Nebraska
What makes you passionate about the field of beauty? Do you love the different ways you can change your appearance, the changing technology, or the idea of working with different people every day? No matter what you bring to the cosmetology industry, a Nebraska cosmetology license can help your reach your career goals.
Since cosmetology is a licensed field, you have to go through the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services to be able to work in cosmetology. They approve beauty schools, set curriculum guidelines, administer tests, and decide whether or not you get a cosmetology license.
As you look through cosmetology schools, you may find that all approved schools in Nebraska have their curriculum divided into the following areas:
• Freshman/beginning class: 300 hours of permanent waving, chemical relaxing, facials, haircutting, hairstyling, manicuring and artificial nails, shampoos and scalp treatments, hair coloring, Nebraska cosmetology statutes, rules and policies, ethics, dispensary, and reception duties
• Advanced cosmetology class: 1800 hours of lecture, shampooing, conditioning, haircutting, hairstyling, waving and relaxing, hair coloring, facials, eyebrows, body waxing, manicuring, pedicuring, and salesmanship
Once you reach advanced status as a student, you should spend most of your time working with clients. During this part of your education, you get feedback from instructors and learn how to carry out your job duties more effectively.
There are many high quality beauty schools in Nebraska. Contact them now to learn more about how to get a beauty license in NE.
Nebraska Cosmetology License Requirements
After you have officially graduated from your beauty school and you feel confident about all of your cosmetology skills, it is time to jump into the rest of the licensing process.
The Department of Health and Human Services has set the following fees and standards for new applicants:
• $95 licensing fee
• $25 temporary license fee
• Payment made via check or money order to Licensure Unit
• 2100 hours of training required—no apprenticeship options
• Tests administered by PSI; available in English only
Once you have been thoroughly vetted and tested, you can get your license and officially begin working as a cosmetologist. Going through the licensing process ensures that you will not get fined for operating illegally and that you have professional protection. Licensure also makes it easier to get professional liability insurance and market yourself to potential customers.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Nebraska
Keeping your NE cosmetology license valid is absolutely essential if you want to keep working as a cosmetologist in Nebraska. Renewal standards in Nebraska are very similar to what you may find in other states. You have to renew your license by December 31 of every even-numbered year. Your application must be accompanied by a $118 renewal fee.
During each renewal period, you have to earn eight continuing education units. The Department of Health and Human Services approves specific continuing education providers and opportunities. You may be able to keep up on your training by attending beauty expos, seminars, trade shows, and salon-sponsored training events.
Although there are many requirements to get a beauty license in Nebraska, they all serve an important purpose. If you are ready to commit to a new career and explore the beauty industry, use our list of schools below to request information from Nebraska beauty schools.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Nebraska
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.