Missouri Cosmetology Licensing
Education Requirements for Cosmetologists in Missouri
Would you rather spend your time experimenting with your hair, trying new hairstyles, and checking out new beauty products than sitting in front of the TV playing video games? If you’re passionate about looking your best and helping other people look their best, you can make your mark in the world of cosmetology.
Cosmetology is one of the fastest changing industries in the world, and it relies on new, dedicated professionals who are willing to push the envelope and try new things. The Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners has high standards for its cosmetologists, so you must meet the Missouri cosmetology license requirements before you start working.
At any approved Missouri school, your curriculum must include these subjects:
• Hair coloring and bleaching
• Hair cutting and shaping
• Permanent waving and relaxing
• Hair setting
• Scalp treatments
• Facials and eyebrows
• Cosmetic chemistry
• Salesmanship and management
• State law
• Chemical use
The review at the end of your curriculum is meant to get you ready for the cosmetology licensing exams that are part of the licensure process in Missouri. However, don’t expect to spend all of your time with your head behind a book. Instead, get ready to spend most of your school hours practicing your techniques, getting feedback, and working with clients while supervised by instructors.
Getting an MO cosmetology license is the first step to a fun and fast-paced career in the beauty industry. Learn more by contacting beauty schools near you.
Missouri Cosmetology License Requirements
The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology requires you to pay a number of fees and submit several applications before you get your license. Once they have verified your educational hours, you can register to take your written exam and your skills exam. You have to pass both exams to get your Missouri state cosmetology license.
Use the list below to understand the fees you have to pay and find other information on the licensing process in Missouri:
• $25 apprentice fee if you work as an apprentice rather than completing a conventional beauty program
• $30 initial licensing fee
• Fees paid to PCS via phone or mail
• 1500 training hours or 3000 apprentice hours must be completed before you take your tests
• PCS tests can be taken in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese
The licensing process was developed in the United States to ensure that chemicals, dangerous tools, and other cosmetology materials were being used properly. An untrained professional trying to use hair processing chemicals could seriously and even permanently damage a client’s skin and hair.
Requirements for Renewing Your Cosmetology License in Missouri
In any licensed profession, it is good to know the renewal process and expectations. Preparing for renewal ahead of time can save you from accidentally letting your license lapse or paying late fees. The Board of Cosmetology MO statutes require you to renew your license by September 30 of every odd-numbered year. The renewal fee in this state is $30. Continuing education is not required as part of renewal, but it is one of the most trusted ways of strengthening your skills and staying up-to-date on industry changes.
If you’ve ever wondered what a career in cosmetology could do for your life, now is the time to find out. With our list of schools below, you can quickly and easily contact Missouri beauty schools near you.
Find Cosmetology Programs in Missouri
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.