Vermont Barber License & Training Requirements
Influence Style as a Licensed Barber in Vermont
Remember when men were content to settle for haircuts at their mom’s salon? Barbers across Vermont have reclaimed the barbershop, giving men the opportunity to experience the hot towels, close shaves, and expertly executed traditional grooming. Today’s licensed Vermont barbers know nice hair and clean fingernails aren’t just for metrosexuals but for any man who wants to look his best.
Barbers in the state are licensed by the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Read on for an overview of the training, testing and overall process the Board requires to earn the license you’ll need to cut, shave and style men’s hair, beards, and mustaches.
Vermont Barbering School and Apprenticeship Training Options
If you choose to attend barber college to earn your training, the Board requires students to complete at least 1,000 hours of theory and practical training in these industry subjects:
- Shampooing and related chemistry
- Hair cutting, hairstyling, and hair shaping
- Permanent waving
- Hair straightening
- Basic esthetician facial
- Clipper cutting
- Straight razor shaves
- Beard trims
- Hair coloring and related chemistry
- Sterilization and disinfection
- Professional ethics
- Vermont laws, rules, and regulations
Vermont offers prospective barbers the opportunity to complete a two-year apprenticeship in lieu of barber college coursework. Barbering apprentices must register with the state to earn hands-on experience directly under a licensed barber in a licensed barbershop for their entire 24-month training period. Your apprenticeship supervisor will be responsible for overseeing 2,000 hours of training that prepare you for your barbering exams.
When you complete your training, your supervisor will submit a barber apprenticeship verification form to the Board to verify your preparedness for the Vermont theory, jurisprudence, and practical barbering exams.
Submitting your Vermont Barber License Application
Vermont residents who are 18 years of age or older, complete 12th grade, and meet the required hours of their barber college or apprenticeship program may apply to take their barbering exams. To apply with the state’s testing vendor, PCS:
- Create your personal PCS Account
- Download and read the PCS Barber Handbook
- Using your account information, log into the PCS client portal to complete your online application
Your application should include:
- Proof of barber classroom training/apprenticeship hours
- A copy of your high school diploma
- A passport-sized photo
- All exams fees
Once you are registered, you will receive an authorization to test email from PCS for the theory and jurisprudence exams. The third test, your practical exam, requires a separate practical admission email notice from PCS.
The multiple-choice written theory exam tests your general barbering knowledge in four weighted subjects:
- Scientific concepts – 40%
- Chemical services – 25%
- Hair care services – 20%
- Facial and shaving services – 15%
The jurisprudence exam is a second written exam covering Vermont Barber and Cosmetology Laws and Rules. The exam fee for new licensees is included in your original licensing application fees.
If you’re an out-of-state barber taking the jurisprudence exam to meet the endorsement requirements for your Vermont barbering license, refer to the state’s licensure endorsement form for current exam fees.
Practical barbering exam are offered in Montpelier. You will need to schedule your exam and bring your own mannequin and supply kit to your test center on exam date. Using the materials you provide, you will be tested on your ability to complete these barbering services:
- Setup and client protection
- Shaving with a straight razor
- Chemical waving
- Hair lightening/coloring
- Chemical relaxing
You’ll be notified of your scores by mail within 10 business days. The test vendor will also notify the Board of your scores via email. Once the board receives and acknowledges your scores, it will issue your Vermont barber’s license.
Vermont Out-of-State Barber License Reciprocity Via Endorsement
If you move to Vermont with an existing barber’s license, the state’s endorsement process may help you transfer your training and apply it directly to a Vermont license. See the Jurisprudence Exam section above for information regarding this Vermont-specific test.
To learn whether you qualify, download the state’s licensure endorsement form for barbers and cosmetologists. The form lists the fees and supporting documents to submit along with the form itself to:
Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main St. 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Requirements for Renewing Your Vermont Barber License
Vermont barbers renew their licenses on September 30th of even-numbered years. Your renewal will be contingent on proof you completed 24 hours of continuing education credits during the previous licensing cycle. The Secretary of State’s Professional Regulation page offers links to license renewal information and forms.
Aside from being a licensing requirement, continuing education keeps you informed on the latest product and techniques. With the Bureau of Labor Statistics reporting double-digit demand for barbers nationwide to continue through 2026, your current knowledge could pay off in new clients and repeat business from satisfied customers who leave your chair looking their best.
Find Barbering Programs in Vermont
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.