New Mexico Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in New Mexico Barbering Schools
Ready to use your creativity to revitalize the beauty industry of New Mexico? Why not consider attending a local barber college and becoming a barber? Barbers are in high demand in New Mexico, since they specialize in men’s hair care and facial hair styling. Before you can earn a New Mexico barber license, you have to go through 1200 hours of training at an approved barber school. Once you’ve finished your barbering courses, you can apply for licensure through the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Part of getting a barbering license in NM is getting the right type of education, which is why you have to meet the following training requirements.
New Mexico Barber Classes
- 75 hours: State laws and regulation, first aid, chemistry, electricity, and ethics
- 75 hours: Sanitation, sterilization, and bacteriology
- 75 hours: Shampoos, rinses, and scalp treatments
- 200 hours: Perms and relaxing treatments
- 150 hours: Hairstyling
- 125 hours: Hair coloring and bleaching
- 250 hours: Hair cutting and beard trimming
- 175 hours: Facials
- 50 hours: Business management
- 40 facial shave procedures
- 30 shaving around the neck and ears procedures
- 25 women’s haircuts
- 75 men’s haircuts
- 25 hairstyling procedures
- 7 permanent waving procedures
- 7 permanent relaxing procedures
Barbering courses in New Mexico may help you develop the skills and confidence needed to make a splash in the local cosmetology community. Get started on your path to a barber license in New Mexico now by contacting NM barbering schools!
New Mexico Barber Training and License Requirements
Getting your barber license is a big accomplishment! Upon finishing your 1200 hours of training, you can schedule your tests and pay your licensing fees. Passing the written test and skills test is the final step to securing your initial license.
New Mexico Barbering License Specifics
- Accepted payment methods: Fees payable by check or money order
- License/application fees: $50 licensing fee
- Apprenticeship options: Apprenticeship options unavailable in New Mexico
To understand why New Mexico has tough licensing standards, you have to think about the tools you use as a barber. Barbers use tons of equipment and tools that can be dangerous, including harsh chemicals and sharp shears. Requiring that all barbering professionals get at least 1200 hours of training protects the public from undertrained barbers. This also benefits the beauty industry, since it boosts public opinion of this field.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in New Mexico
New Mexico is one of a handful of states that requires annual license renewal for barbers. Each year, you have to pay a renewal fee of $50. Your renewal application is due by the final day of your birth month every year. Although New Mexico does not have any continuing education requirements, it’s important to keep up on your training throughout your career. Dedicating yourself to ongoing training can help you sharpen your skills and offer more to your clients.
Ready to take the next step in your beauty career? Get in touch with New Mexico barbering schools today to learn more about your options.
Find Barbering Programs in New Jersey
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.