New Hampshire Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in New Hampshire Barbering Schools
The future of the beauty industry is always changing. Do you want to be part of it and even help decide which styles make it big? It all starts with the training you get at a New Hampshire barber school. There are two ways to get licensed in New Hampshire. First, you can attend 800 hours of barber courses in NH. After you pass a written test and skills test, you become a barber. You can also become a master barber by going through 1500 hours of barbering courses or a 3000-hour apprenticeship. These training requirements are set by the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics, which has high expectations for those who want to earn a New Hampshire barber license!
While attending a local barber college, you have to cover key topics in your education. Accredited schools include the following subjects in their curricula.
New Hampshire Barber Classes
- Hair cutting
- Hair styling
- Razor cutting
- Shaves and beard trimming
- Scalp massage
- Hair analysis
- Hair pieces
- Business management
- Textbook theory
- State laws and rules
Are you ready to apply for your barbering license in New Hampshire? There’s no time like right now to start getting ready! Get in touch with local barbering programs to start comparing your options.
New Hampshire Barber Training and License Requirements
Getting your NH barber license is a bit of a process, but preparing ahead of time can help you save time and start working more quickly. Of course, education is one of the most important steps. However, you also have to prove what you’ve learned by taking a written test and a skills test. After the Board verifies your training hours and receives proof of your passing scores, they may award you your barbering license.
New Hampshire Barbering License Specifics
- Accepted payment methods: Fees payable by check or money order
- License/application fees: $25 application fee and $30 licensing fee
- Apprenticeship options: May complete a 1600-hour apprenticeship instead of an 800-hour program
If you’ve never worked in the beauty industry before, you may wonder why you have to earn a license before you can work with clients. It all comes down to accountability. When professionals are held to high standards, it’s easier for clients to take a chance on new stylists. It’s also easier for barber shops to hire new barbers and feel confident about the skills they bring to their work.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in New Hampshire
New Hampshire’s license renewal requirements are straightforward and easy to follow, making it simple to keep your barbering license valid. You must renew your license in odd-numbered years by the last day of your birth month. The current renewal fee in New Hampshire is $40. There are no continuing education laws in New Hampshire, but you can still opt to attend local training events and seminars.
You’re ready to jump into the beauty industry, so why wait any longer? Get in touch with New Hampshire barbering schools to find the right school for you now.
Find Barbering Programs in New Hampshire
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.