Michigan Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in Michigan Barbering Schools
If you’re on top of the latest hairstyles and you’re ready to turn your passion for beauty into a career, it’s time to become a barber! Michigan has a growing need for barbering professionals. With the training you get from barbering courses in Michigan, you may be able to start working and recreating trendy looks.
To get your Michigan barber license, you must go through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. This agency requires at least 1800 hours of training before you can apply for a barber license in Michigan. Your education has to cover the following topics.
Michigan Barber Classes
- 10 hours: History of barbering and implements used in barbering
- 60 theory hours and 50 practical hours: First aid, work stations, bacteriology, implements, laws, and rules
- 30 theory hours: Anatomy and physiology, bone structure, client examination, service recommendation
- 60 theory hours and 1,000 practical hours: Haircutting and shaving
- 45 theory hours and 350 practical hours: Chemical services, including shampooing, conditioning, hair waving, hair relaxing, hair coloring, and hair lightening
- 20 theory hours and 250 practical hours: Skin care, hair and scalp treatments, and hair pieces
- 10 theory hours: Laws, rules, and regulations
- 15 theory hours and 100 practical hours: Ethics, bookkeeping, taxes, insurance, and merchandise
Ready to learn more about barbering courses? Reach out to Michigan barber schools today to take the first step.
Michigan Barber Training and License Requirements
Once your education is behind you, you can begin the licensing process through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. You have to submit your application, pay your licensing fees, and pass two exams. The first exam is a written exam. Once you pass that, you may take your written exam.
Michigan Barbering License Specifics
- Testing costs: $161 testing fee for both the written and practical exam
- Accepted payment methods: Fees payable by money order, business check, or cashier’s check
- License/application fees: $20 licensing fee and $80 application fee
- Apprenticeship options: Unavailable in Michigan
- Tests administered by PSI
There are lots of benefits that come with earning a barbering license in MI. First, a license shows your skills and training to potential clients and employers. Licensing standards also ensure that cosmetology professionals are all held to the same expectations, which strengthens the reputation of the industry as a whole.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in Michigan
You’ve attended barber school and earned your first license. What’s the next step? All you have to do to keep your license up to date is renew it every year. Barbers have to renew their license by the expiration date annually to avoid a late fee. The renewal fee is $20 and the late fee is $20. Michigan currently does not have any continuing education requirements for barbering professionals.
This is a great time to check out cosmetology careers and start the training you need to thrive in this field. Find the right barber college for you now by reaching out to Michigan barber programs.
Find Barbering Programs in Michigan
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.