Massachusetts Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in Massachusetts Barbering Schools
Have you ever considered becoming a barber? Are you ready to use your passion for beauty to jump start a new career? If this describes you, barber school may be the next stop for you. Before you can start working as a barber, you must earn your license through the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering. They have fairly standard training requirements for barbering students. By the time you graduate, you must have at least 1000 hours of education. To qualify for a license, you have to attend an approved barbering school. Furthermore, you must complete certain barbering courses in Massachusetts to develop the skills needed for licensure. The required courses and topics are outlined below.
Massachusetts Barber Classes
- Public sanitation and sanitation methods
- Product chemistry and composition
- Hair, skin and scalp structure and composition
- Hair analysis
- Skin conditions and disorders
- Shampoos and rinses
- Scalp and hair care
- Shaving and beard design
- Hair coloring
- Chemical waving
- Chemical hair relaxing
- Massachusetts laws and statutes
Once you finish your mandatory barbering courses and get plenty of hands-on practice at your barbering school, it’s time to move on to the next step and apply for your license. Find the right barbering school for you by reaching out to Massachusetts programs today.
Massachusetts Barber Training and License Requirements
Now that your education is behind you, the next step is applying for your Massachusetts barber license. You have to submit your application, pay required fees, and prove that you’ve gotten the right training to get a barbering license. From there, you may pay your testing fees and schedule your written and practical exams. Upon passing both exams, you may be ready to get your license and start working.
Massachusetts Barbering License Specifics
- Testing costs: $130 testing fee
- Accepted payment methods: Fees payable by credit card, electronic check, or voucher
- License/application fees: $20 application fee
- Apprenticeship options: Must apprentice under a master barber for 18 months to become a master barber
Why is it important to go through this whole process and get your barbering license in MA? Licensing restrictions ensure that customers can get hair care from properly trained professionals. This gives salons and barber shops an easy way to test applicants and ensure that they’re ready for the challenges of a barbering career. This may help you get established in a barbering career and make a name for yourself.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in Massachusetts
You have your MA barbering license and you’re ready to start working. Your license is good for up to two years, depending on when you get your initial license. To keep your license valid, you must renew by every December 31 in odd-numbered years. The renewal fee is $40 for an apprentice barber an $78 for a master barber. You do not need any continuing education to renew your license, so just make sure to renew on time to keep working.
It’s time to find the best barber college for your learning style and preferences. Get the ball rolling now by contacting Massachusetts barber schools.
Find Barbering Programs in Massachusetts
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.