Hawaii Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in Hawaii Barbering Schools
When you decide to become a barber in Hawaii, you get to work on skills that are in demand in barber shops throughout the state. With the right training and practice, you may earn your barber license in Hawaii and start building your career! The licensing agency in this state is the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Licensing Area: Barbering and Cosmetology.
They require that you complete at least 1500 hours of training before applying for a license. In your barbering courses, you must cover specific topics and skills to meet state standards.
Hawaii Barber Classes
- Sanitation, product chemistry, product storage, client safety, and OSHA
- Hair and scalp structure, composition, growth, and analysis
- Scalp care
- Shaving and facial hair styling
- Hair coloring
- Chemical waving
- Chemical hair relaxing
- Hair styling
- Hair cutting
- Hawaii laws and rules
Are you ready to find a barber college that fits your career goals and personal style?
Check out Hawaii barber courses and get in touch with schools near you.
Hawaii Barber Training and License Requirements
Once your barber school training is behind you, you should be well on your way to earning a Hawaii barbering license. Your education covers the topics tested in your practical and written tests. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs verifies your passing scores and administers your initial practice license.
Hawaii Barbering License Specifics
- Testing costs: $90 combined testing fee
- Accepted payment methods: Fees payable by Visa, MasterCard, money order, or cashier’s check
- License/application fees: $20 application fee and $37 temporary permit fee
- Apprenticeship options: 1500 apprenticeship hours can be completed in place of 1500 standard training hours
- Tests administered by Prometric
Going through this process is beneficial for you and for the barbering community. Holding barbers to high training and testing standards gives consumers a simple way to try new stylists without fear. In addition, licensing gives employers the chance to verify the skills of potential employees without a time-consuming testing process.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in Hawaii
The renewal process for barbers in HI is straightforward, so you can easily keep your license up-to-date and avoid delays in your work. Hawaii requires that all licenses be renewed by December 31 in every odd-numbered year. At the end of each renewal cycle, you must pay a $100 renewal fee.
Currently, there are no continuing education requirements for Hawaii barbers. That doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t spend time furthering your education and training, though! Styles and techniques are always changing in this field, and continuing education is one of the easiest ways of keeping your skills relevant. Many barber shops and barbering schools offer continuing education programs.
The beauty industry is growing, so take advantage of this opportunity to explore a barbering career.
Reach out to Hawaii barbering schools to learn more about your options!
Find Barbering Programs in Hawaii
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.