Florida Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in Florida Barbering Schools
If you have an eye for detail, the ability to keep clients relaxed and entertained while they’re in your chair, and a passion for learning, this is a great time to earn a barbering license in Florida!
Barbering is one of the fastest growing cosmetology specialties in the country, giving you the chance to specialize in male hair care and develop your knowledge of men’s hairstyles. This field is regulated by the Florida Barbers’ Board. Their licensing requirements are in line with national averages; before you can earn a license, you must complete 1,200 hours of training at an approved barbering school.
Florida Barber Classes
- Methods of sterilization and sanitation
- First aid
- Use and storage of equipment and supplies
- Barbering laws and rules
- Principles and techniques of hair cutting
- Shears, clippers, and razor cutting
- Use of styling tools
- Chemical procedures
- Hair coloring
- Bleaching and straightening hair
- Facial hair care
- Hair structure and chemistry theory
Don’t wait any longer to explore this cosmetology career!
Get more information on Florida barber college options by contacting schools near you today.
Florida Barber Training and License Requirements
The Florida Barbers’ Board sets licensing requirements for all aspiring barbers. Before you get your barber license, Florida requires that you provide proof of your 1,200 hours of education. You can then schedule your barbering exam through Pearson VUE and pay all associated fees.
Once you pass your exam, you can work under the supervision of a licensed barber until you receive your license in the mail, at which point you can start working independently. You must pass the test in two attempts; if you fail twice, you must complete remedial education before reapplying.
Florida Barbering License Specifics
- Testing costs: $150 combined testing fee
- Accepted payment methods: Electronic check, voucher, credit card, money order, cashier’s check
- License/application fees: $150 combined application fee and $100 licensing fee
- Apprenticeship options: No apprenticeship options in Florida
- Tests administered by Pearson VUE
Sticking to these procedures and meeting state licensing standards strengthens the field of barbering. When all barbers are held to the same standards of training and education, the field is more widely respected by customers and the public. With your license, you have an easy way of proving to potential employers and clients what you know.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in Florida
You have to renew your Florida barbering license every two years to keep it valid. Renewal documents are due by October 31 in every even-numbered or odd-numbered year, depending on when you get your initial license.
During each two-year renewal period, you must complete 16 credits of barber courses in Florida. The renewal fee is currently set at $70. You may meet your continuing education requirements with refresher courses at an FL barber school or cosmetology school. Some beauty brands also offer training events and seminars that meet CEU requirements.
Find out how barbering courses can get you started on the path to an exciting barber career.
Request information from barber programs near you to take the first step.