Alabama Barber License and Training Requirements
Required Barbering Courses in Alabama Barbering Schools
Becoming a barber gives you the skills needed to cut men’s hair, design and maintain facial hair, and provide other hair care services. In Alabama, the field of barbering is regulated by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. If you choose a conventional training program to meet your licensing requirements, you must complete at least 1,000 hours of training at an approved beauty or barbering school. Within your 1,000 hours of training, your time must be spent on specific skills and techniques.
Alabama Barber Classes
- History, law, image, and management: 100 hours
- Sanitation and disinfection: 100 hours
- Cutting, shaping, and styling: 150 hours
- Shampooing and rinses: 75 hours
- Anatomy and physical sciences: 100 hours
- Skin, scalp, and hair: 50 hours
- Shaving, design, and hairpieces: 125 hours
- Chemical waving: 50 hours
- Relaxing: 50 hours
This leaves 200 unassigned hours. Schools can use these as they see fit. Some barber school programs set up field trips, offer additional practice hours for students, or provide additional training on new techniques. Keep in mind that the hours listed above are for a regular training program. Hour amounts are doubled for an apprenticeship program.
Ready to find a barber college that can get you started in the field of men’s hair care? Request information from Alabama cosmetology and barbering schools to learn more.
Alabama Barber Training and License Requirements
Once you’ve completed the education requirements for an Alabama barber license, you can apply for your license. To earn a barber license in AL, you must submit proof of graduation from an approved program to the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. You can then schedule your written and practical exams through NIC Testing. Once the Board receives proof of your passing scores, they administer your initial license.
Alabama Barbering License Specifics
- Testing costs: $75 for the written exam; $120 for the practical exam
- Accepted payment methods: Money order, cashier’s check, or business check
- License/application fees: $40 licensing fee
- Apprenticeship options: 2,000 hours of apprenticeship
Beauty is a highly regulated field, and for good reason. Holding barbers to high licensing standards ensures that customers can easily find qualified, well-trained barbers. This strengthens the reputation of the beauty industry as a whole.
Requirements for Renewing Your Barber License in Alabama
After you’ve used your Alabama barber license to start your career, you’ll need to keep it renewed. In Alabama, barber licenses must be renewed by the last day of your birth month in every even-numbered year. The standard renewal fee is $80. If you do not renew on time, you must pay a $50 late fee. There are no continuing education requirements in this state, so you simply have to submit your application and fee to continue working.
This is a great time to start working as a barber in Alabama. Whether you choose a barbering school or an apprenticeship, you can get started now by getting in touch with barber courses in Alabama.
Find Barbering Programs in Alabama
You must attend a school that is approved by your state to provide training in the discipline you want to practice. Check with the school and the state board to be sure that your program of study will prepare you for any applicable state licensure.